Discussion Forums

Using GNU Octave

19 replies [Last post]
Anders Feder

As you may have read, SETI Institute is opening a sandbox enviroment in the Amazon cloud to let people test out signal processing algoritms on real SETI data. The service will be based on GNU Octave (a Matlab clone) which can be downloaded here. While we wait for cloud service to open, can we get some examples of how to use GNU Octave for signal processing? If we also download the currently available data files, it should be possible to work on them, right? The syntax should be pretty much the same as Matlab, but since I have no Matlab experience, I have trouble just doing a basic Fourier transform. Any recommendations?

Anders Feder
Here's a textbook example I

Here's a textbook example I found, though not working on actual data:

Define a basic sine wave; x(k)=3sin(2πk/10) as k=1,2,3...256; Type

octave:51>for k=1:256;s(k)=3*sin(2*pi*k/10);end

Generate some Gaussian noise

octave:52>n=2*randn(1,256);

Add it to the signal

octave:54>x=s+n;

Take the magnitude of the Fourier transform of the time
series

octave:55>p=abs(fft(x));

Plot the result

octave:56>plot(p)

This generates a sine wave and adds it to a series of Gaussian noise, much like you do when you transmit a radio signal in a noisy medium like the atmosphere or indeed space.

I don't know how to interpret the exact figures involved, though; the plot shows spikes at around 27 and 231 on the lower axis. What could that signify? Apparently, the axises are time and amplitude. Can someone please explain how t=27 and t=231 relates to the example? Also, why does the plot render over the time domain as opposed to the frequency domain?

For convenience, the complete code as it is typed in:

for k=1:256;s(k)=3*sin(2*pi*k/10);end
 n=2*randn(1,256);
 x=s+n;
 p=abs(fft(x));
 plot(p)

robackrman
I have annotated your plot to